Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Premium feed addon idea
12-10-2016, 11:57 AM (This post was last modified: 12-10-2016 12:46 PM by icodes.)
Post: #41
RE: Premium feed addon idea
Yeah that is fine, I'm pleased that you think it will be successful :-)

We will be adding more coding soon to check for offer quality, and if the offers do not contain any mention of being an offer in the description field (i.e. we will check for keywords such as save, free, offer, deal, clearance, half, discount, off....) then they will go in an 'invalid offer' list to be edited or deleted by the user before they are accepted into the premium feed... however this will take some tweaking to perfect.

Really good examples of offers are such as..
http://icodes.live/offers/?search=Viking+Direct
http://icodes.live/offers/?search=Currys
http://icodes.live/offers/?search=Boots.com
http://icodes.live/offers/?search=Picniq




Ideal123.. For offers, the product name needs to be in the title (not the save amount), unless however it's a sitewide deal and not product specific.
The description should contain EVERYTHING, and not just a follow on from the title.

The reason being is for SEO, its the title of a deal that is used in the title on a search engine, and people search for a product and not a save amount.

You can edit them via OFFERS > MY ADDED OFFERS.. .I've edited those you have done :-)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 03:32 PM
Post: #42
RE: Premium feed addon idea
That is great thanks, will get there soon and I believe a guidance manual will be great. Good to make a start and will learn along the way.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 03:44 PM
Post: #43
RE: Premium feed addon idea
(12-10-2016 03:32 PM)ideal123 Wrote:  That is great thanks, will get there soon and I believe a guidance manual will be great. Good to make a start and will learn along the way.
Just a point! Don't put your affiliate id in the deeplink, just the destination url, also try to shorten the title, Use offer plus the item with no description. The colour etc goes in the description box.

Barbara
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 03:46 PM (This post was last modified: 12-10-2016 03:52 PM by icodes.)
Post: #44
RE: Premium feed addon idea
Yeah, your offers will get better in time, we don't mind offers like everyday products being reduced, but we are really looking for real genuine offers which merchants promote from their homepages.

e,g. all the Currys offers (added by a person i trained) :-) and not just random "Was £xxx, Now £xxx" offers, but are genuine homepage promoted offers...

http://www.currys.co.uk/ > http://icodes.live/offers/?search=Currys

Ideal123.. Sorry, had to delete all your offers due to containing an affiliate link.. I tried manually stripping out the affiliate url section but then the link didn't work so deleted them. (the page does day DO NOT add an affiliate link)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 03:51 PM
Post: #45
RE: Premium feed addon idea
I'm sorry about that, I was only saying about the affiliate urls.. I thought both he and I were on..

Barbara
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 04:05 PM
Post: #46
RE: Premium feed addon idea
A good idea for if you can't grab the banner on the merchant site...

Open up the 'Snipping Tool' on your PC, snip out the banner and upload it to a free image hosting site such as Photobucket.com, then link to it from there..

e.g. these are done like that.. http://icodes.live/offers/?/search/Viking+Direct/page/3
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 05:09 PM (This post was last modified: 12-10-2016 05:38 PM by icodes.)
Post: #47
RE: Premium feed addon idea
Now added filters to 'Add Offer' to try and prevent 'non offers' getting added, this can obviously be bypassed on purpose but doing so will just ensure you are removed from being a feeder.

If your offer doesn't contain atleast one of the filter words then it will return an 'Invalid Offer' message.

Unfortunately we have had to remove the 'Add Multiple Offers' facility because we couldn't get the filters to work for each individual offer.

Although we want quantity, quality is far more important.
If any genuine offers are being blocked please let me know and i'll amend the filters.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 06:16 PM
Post: #48
RE: Premium feed addon idea
We have now added checks to ensure affiliate links are not added with deeplinks.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 07:16 PM
Post: #49
RE: Premium feed addon idea
The Add New Offer form won't load

Barbara
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2016, 07:51 PM (This post was last modified: 12-10-2016 08:13 PM by icodes.)
Post: #50
RE: Premium feed addon idea
If you are referring to the add multiple offers form then that's been deleted for reasons stated above, I've tested the add single offer form and that's working fine here
Sorry my mistake, I was checking the US form, Vince is looking at it asap
Fixed :-)
Barbara, your 'BreakFree Holidays' deals has a broken image and a non working deeplink, and the deeplink is for Haven, not BreakFree Holidays
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)